Big trucks, fast planes and something for me
Loving It

Hopes, dreams and disappointment

Feeling very tired today, this last week has been a combination of hard work, busy days and lack of sleep - through late nights and the boys waking in the night and early in the mornings. This is what I've been up to... making over 20 doorstops, 7 childrens PVC aprons and 22 cards. My sister had said that she and Mum were going to sell old things they didn't want at an indoor market and I decided that I'd make some things to sell too.

P1030245 P1030244

If you ever want to sew PVC coated fabric; either sew fabric between tissue paper or buy a special presser foot or better still don't! I thought this would make some super cute kids aprons, but it took FOREVER and I shall not be doing them again. The PVC wouldn't run through the sewing machine, so I had to sew it all surrounded in tissue paper, then remove the tissue paper (this bit took much longer than the sewing). I added a pink ribbon tag to each item which I LOVE! At least now my boys each have a blue spot apron like Mummy's Cath Kidston one!

Want to see more? Here's the doorstops, aprons and cards I made.

P1030256P1030257P1030258P1030260P1030261_2P1030242P1030243P1030262P1030263P1030264_2P1030265_2P1030266P1030268P1030269P1030270P1030272P1030259a

Unfortunately the indoor market was a complete waste of time, about 20 people came and I only sold 1 card - very disappointed. My sister Janet suggested doing a car boot sale on the Bank Holiday Monday, which was yesterday, as she and Mum had sold very little as well. This was turning out very poor too, I dropped my prices in the hope to sell something and ended up selling 2 doorstops and 1 apron. But the best thing? I thought I'd make best use of my time and took my knitting with me, I'm knitting a felted bag for Janine's birthday (yes she does know!). Not only did I manage to finish knitting it, but lots of people asked me what I was knitting (just happened to have my felted bag with me to show them). Anyway one lady asked me for my business card as she was looking for ideas for Christmas presents! Obviously I don't have a business card, but I gave her my phone number on a little tag I'd made to put on the doorstops.

Not to be completely downhearted by the lack of sales, I have booked another table at an indoor market here in Verwood at the end of September. It is being held next to the farmers market which happens once a month. This month the indoor market had over 200 people through the door. I'm hoping that the type of people who go to a farmers market will be the type of people who will like my products and buy some - fingers crossed.

I have really missed not scrapping much this week but here's one I did a week a go and another which I did last night. The first one is about the Red Arrows, I kept the layout really simple to show off lots of pictures of the Red Arrows doing their stuff and put hidden journaling behind a photo, keeping it closed with a red arrow photo turn! The second layout shows photos I took on a walk at Hengistbury Head on Sunday. Callum for some reason was fascinated by the stones and had to collect them, putting some in his pockets (with my help), some into my bag and about 4 in each hand - the walk took a very long time!

P1030238  P1030239

P1030340

We had a lovely time at Hengistbury Head, I went there when I was at 1st School, but Jeff and the boys had never been. We flew a kite, walked along the beach and took a land train to Mudeford Sandspit. This is where the really expensive Beach Huts are, some of them looked lovely. It was a real little community, some people stay here for the whole summer, sleeping in the huts. We took the train back to Hengistbury Head and had lunch in the Hikers Cafe, such a rubbish name because inside the cafe it was lovely. It had leather seats, stone flooring and looked really contemporary, I'm guessing it had been refurbished this season.

P1030296_2 P1030316_3

P1030315 P1030313_2

Yesterday afternoon (Bank Holiday Monday) we went to the Rustic Fayre here in Verwood. It is a small show with vintage vehicles, stalls, etc, anyway there was an old fire engine and the owner let the boys have a go at holding the hose and spraying water. They loved it, especially Callum who is REALLY into fire engines and Fireman Sam, he is watching Fireman Sam as I write!

P1030338

AND finally here's my favourite photo from the weekend; Matthew and Callum on Sunday afternoon watching Dora the Explorer together, a rare sight to see them happy to snuggle together.

P1030328s

Comments