Legoland, Lightyear and Lightning!
Summer 2008

A little house of their own...

P1050730

Since returning from our summer holiday to stay with Jeff's family in Northern Ireland, we have been busy building (thanks Dad for all your help!) ...

IMG_3130 

painting (overlooked by Chloe the cat!)... 

P1050653_edited-1 

adding the finishing touches...

P1050675 IMG_3172_edited-1 

P1050731 P1050732

and playing in this cute little (ok, not so little) playhouse.

P1050684

IMG_3139_edited-1

My sewing machine and I have been hard at work making 4 pairs of gingham curtains, a red gingham table cloth complete with 4 chambray napkins, a tea towel made from Cath Kidston blue spot fabric to match Mummy's, 2 mini cushions with covers made from Disney 'Cars' fabric and a matching bag made from the spare fabric in which to carry the 'cars' when out and about. PLUS I've added Hearts & Flowers labels to 2 mini hand towels as hanging loops. Not to end there...the upstairs level has been carpeted (thanks Janet for the carpet) and the downstairs has both mats and carpet so it's lovely and soft for the boys to sit on and play. I added mini bunting which I had made a while back and hung this from the balistrade and made the upstairs 'bedroom' curtains to match. Yesterday I hung up 2 sets of battery powered fairy lights (from our Christmas box) inside for extra cuteness when they pretend it's 'night-time' and draw the curtains. The playhouse should be complete by the end of this weekend because I'm going to Ikea with my friend Sara to buy a little table and chairs. Yes, I may be going a little over the top with cute handmade accessories, BUT I am loving being able to make all of these things for my little boys AND hopefully they will enjoy playing with them for years to come!

Comments