Out to Lunch, on the Isle of Wight
Mothers Day 2010

A space to scrap

After making do with a re-purposed Baby Changing Unit for a few years and most recently the dining room table, I was finding it hard to be inspired with my scrap space. The baby changing unit was great for storing all my scrap products but the worktop was too high and just wasn't big enough to 'spread' myself out. So I started using the dining room table which was great size wise, but it meant taking products downstairs and making a mess in yet another room of the house. The solution has come in the form of desk units from Ikea (love that store).

IMG_0399-web

I bought two desk storage units (Vika Annefors), a 1.5m x .75m table top in Oak (Vika Amon), a very stylish chair (Jules swivel chair) and a little metal filing cabinet (Helmer).

The front of the storage unit on the left holds my huge collection of letter stickers, my trimmers and the basket holds my 7gypsies stamps. Behind these (it's a nice deep unit and has access from the sides at the back) I store my photo paper and other craft products. In the unit on the right I have my patterned paper and cardstock on the bottom. In the top I have a basket with adhesives and computer/camera leads and behind these a box of bare mini-books.

Everything else on the desk was bought 1 to 2 years a go. The desk lamp and the glass jars which contain ribbon are also from Ikea. The cardboard drawer unit on the desk in from WHSmith and contains acrylic stamps and inks. The cake stand is from Homebase, bought primarily for my Hearts & Flowers fairs, now currently holds more ribbon and gaffer tape. The galvanised pots are from Hobbycraft and contain tools and pens.

IMG_0401-web 

The filing cabinet holds lots of embellishments; metal brads, metal embellishments, flowers, buttons, rub-ons, little letter stickers and themed stickers / embellishments.

IMG_0396-web

Behind my desk sits my lovely deep bookcase (given to me for Mothers Day a few years a go). I bought eight lovely little baskets (Byholma) - two are used as drawers in the units under the desk and the other six are in the bookcase. I really wanted to have everything looking neat and matching, and I'm really pleased with how it has all come together. In the baskets I have my; paints, punches, scrap patterned paper/cardstock, journaling spots/cards/etc, chipboard embellishments and other embellishments. The bottom holds my scrapbook albums, mainly American Crafts 12 x 12 D-ring albums. Those lovely red polka dot suitcases (given to me by Jeff for Christmas 2008) contain completed mini-albums.

IMG_0398-web

Oh, and that baby changing unit? It's been repurposed again and has replaced a bureau of mine in the guest bedroom. It now contains all my fabric and sewing stuff, my sewing machine, wool, and photo albums. The bureau is on it's way down to the garage and from there who knows!

Happy creating!

Comments