W is for Week 3 of the summer holidays...
Sand, wind, grey clouds and planes.

Content

Tonight I am feeling content.

IMG_3873-web

I took my sewing machine over to my parents house today and made a camouflage interior for the treehouse. It's got camouflage panels on the two sides and black netting on the back and front. Callum now wants me to make him a camouflage costume "like the ones they wear in the battle of Endor" (we're talking Star Wars, episode 6 Return of the Jedi). The treehouse reminds him of the Ewok village, where the little hairy Ewoks live in the houses up in the trees. AND you know what? I love the idea and maybe I'll get round to that this week sometime. Might even russle up an Ewok costume whilst I'm at it! He was running around their garden today with a camouflage fleece wrapped around him and his lightsaber hanging from his waist on a piece of string. Alas I was too busy sewing that I didn't think to take a photo of him, but here's some 'After' photos.

IMG_3869-web IMG_3870-web

I have photographed those scrapbook layouts I mentioned in yesterdays post.

IMG_3882-web 

This layout is tells the story of Callum shedding tears the night before his 5th birthday because he wasn't going to be 4 anymore. I scraplifted a design of Ali's which she had on her blog (love her layouts), it was perfect for this little story. {Supplies - Twill - Ali Edwards, Lace Cardstock - Scenic Route, PP - Sassafras Lass, Letter Stickers - Making Memories, Date Sticker and Arrow - 7Gypsies}

IMG_3883-web

This photo from our holiday in Cornwall was just begging to be scrapped - it makes me laugh. Plus that maths card came from a set I bought in a little shop in Fowey fon holiday for the sole purpose of using on scrapbook layouts. {Supplies - Maths Card - East of India, Dotted Swiss cardstock - Bazzill Basics, PP and Tab Label - October Afternoon, Number Ribbon - KI Memories, Chipboard Letters - Basic Grey, Clip - Tim Holtz}

IMG_3881-web

I had planned on doing this layout ages ago, even had the photos printed and the idea in my head. And finally it all come together yesterday. The design is one I've used before in 2008, but originally I scraplifted from a Cathy Zielske layout I had seen in Simple Scrapbooks Magazine - oh how I miss that magazine. {Supplies - Dotted Swiss (offcut from the '= 2 funny boys' layout) - Bazzill Basics, PP - Scenic Route, Large Letter Stickers - American Crafts, Small Letter Stickers - October Afternoon, Stamp - Studio Calico}

IMG_3892-webIMG_3893-web

This layout is about the night away Jeff and I had back in June. I did the layout ages ago but hadn't gotten around to doing the journaling. Took inspiration from the hotel brochure for this layout design and colour scheme. There's a pocket behind the brochure on the second page for all the other bits I'd saved from the night away. {Supplies - Cardstock - Bazzill Basics, Brads and Letter Stickers - American Crafts}

IMG_3895-web

And this one was made at least a month ago but never photographed. A lovely snapshot from last years holiday in Majorca which brings back memories of a different, not so nice kind - when a wasp stung Matthew on the eyelid just after he'd finished his ice cream.

I completed the journaling on two other layouts back from 2008, one about potty training Callum 'Mission Completed' and another about Matthew's 5th Birthday 'Today you are 5', but I didn't photograph those, just put them back into their album and let out a little sigh of contentment that they are now finished.

I received two books from Amazon in the post today; 'The Notebook' by Nicholas Sparks (watched the film version on holiday and really enjoyed it, so decided to read the book) and 'The Lovely Bones' by Alice Sebold, which had been recommended to me ages ago.

It's been a few days since I finished 'Dead and Gone' by Charmaine Harris (Book 9 in the Sookie Stackhouse series of books) and it felt strange not having another book ready to read! I'll begin with The Notebook, then move on to The Lovely Bones and then I'm thinking of reading 'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' by Stieg Larsson.

What are you reading right now?

Comments