Seven
Today I ....

"How much does it cost to have a baby?"

That was the question Matthew (my 7 year old) asked in the car on the way back from school yesterday. One of the girls in Matthew's class has just got a baby sister and her Mummy and Daddy bought the tiny baby in to show the class just before home time. I quickly wondered where his questions were leading and replied "Oh they don't cost money to have, although you need to buy lots of things for them, like nappies, a cot, a pushchair, etc". (OK so it may cost money if you need help with IVF but I wasn't going down that street). I added "The Mummy and Daddy make the baby and it grows in the Mummy's tummy" and as I said it I was hoping they wouldn't ask me how the Mummy and Daddy make the baby. Matthew' reply to that was "Oh I know that, it's just that in school today they said it was £7".

Later that evening when the boys were tucked up in bed I told Jeff the story and he said "They meant 7 pounds in weight then, obviously". Duh, of course, why on earth didn't I come to that conclusion? It's so very obvious now!

Comments