Live, laugh, love...
Getting back on track

Change Everything...

OK, a post just to put you in the picture...

Had a really great holiday in Northern Ireland staying with Jeff's parents (thank you for everything - Matthew really wanted to stay longer) and spending time with our lovely friends. Will fill you in with photos etc when I get time... for it has been crazy since we returned on Sunday. I will however just show you this one which will put a smile on your face before you read the rest of this miserable post!

P1020883_2

Callum developed a trend for not wanting to fall asleep in the cot whilst we were on holiday, preferring to fall asleep in Matthew's bed instead. This continued here on Sunday night so I thought OK, he's now 2 (yes it was his birthday whilst we were away) we'll get him into a single bed. So Monday I dismantled the wardrobe in his room, there wasn't enough room for it with a single bed in there (I had to dismantle it because I couldn't get it out the door otherwise!) and moved this plus the contents of the wardrobe and the cot into the guest room. Moved the single bed in and then went shopping for bedding and a bed guard to stop him falling out of bed - our boys are wrigglers! On my return home I found that Jeff had come home from work with a tummy bug, UH OH not again, it was only 4 weeks ago that we had our last run in with a bug. 

This is when it went downhill... took a while to get Callum to stay in his new bed and go to sleep, plus he woke about 3 times during the night. I also couldn't sleep as I was feeling sick and mid way through the night I was - GREAT. A new bedtime routine for Callum, a guest room that is full of pieces of wardrobe, boxes, clothes, cot and suitcases (waiting to be returned to my parents). The long room (multi-purpose room) needed rearranging as the single bed had previously been in there. I had done 7 seven of washing and that all needed to be put away, at least I dried and folded it all before I went to bed! AND I just didn't feel I doing anything. Jeff took the next two days off work sick and between us we took it in shifts to look after the boys and to sleep.

Yesterday I rearranged the long room, GOOD FEELING, it looks great especially without the bed in here. My bookcase which holds my scrap supplies and the desk has moved and the room looks more balanced. I also took the boys to the doctors because of a nasty looking foot infection, they were both given anti-biotics. And then it went DOWNHILL again; Matthew did not like his medicine and refused to take anymore of it. We had to go to the doctors and get an alternative one, hopefully nicer tasting. BUT whilst Jeff was picking up the new prescription Matthew was sick. Cue the washing machine, cleaning products and getting to bed late again. To top it off just when this room (the long room) was nearing completion the light bulb BLEW completely, the glass and metal part had separated. I changed the bulb, flicked the switch in the fuse box (in the garage) checked new bulb and still nothing. I SURRENDERED and decided to investigate no further because the way things were going I feared my life could be in danger. I consulted my Dad this morning and he said to replace the new bulb with another new bulb AND hurray it's working, simple!

Today Matthew is PERKIER although I'm not counting my chickens just yet, indeed there is still one other little person who is likely to succumb to the bug! But I guess I'll make hay while the sun shines (from behind the thick clouds) and try to catch up with life. Oh and go and get our cat from my parents before she thinks I have totally abandoned her!

By the way the title for this post is a Del Amitri song title which I thought was pretty representative of the way life is in this house at the moment. Plus on a happier note we've booked tickets to see Justin Currie (Del's singer) on his upcoming tour in October, YIPPEE!

Comments