All aboard!
A few of my favourite things...

Four seasons in one day

Well, at least four seasons in one week. Tuesday and Friday were beautiful sunny days here. The boys played outside with their bike and tractor and I enjoyed the warmth of the sun sitting on our bench in the front garden. I even started another felted bag with some wool that arrived that morning. (I've since completed it, plus another in black which have both been felted and just started another in light pink).

Img_1227_2Img_1231

Friday again a lovely warm spring day, warm enough not to have a coat or jumper on. My friend Jo and her boys came over for the morning and again we played outside.

Img_1271Img_1274

Today however we had snow - in April! We haven't had snow that has actually settled and been deep enough to play in since we moved here 3 years ago. At 7:30am it was raining and a few minutes later it began to snow and continued to do so for at least an hour. The trees in the wood in front of our house looked stunning and the grass was covered with enough snow to actually build a small snowman or two.

Img_1294Img_1297

Img_1322 Img_1330

You may recognise the title of this post as a Crowded House song and here's another one that is particularly fitting too; Locked Out. For little Callum had gone indoors, he'd had enough of building snowmen and wanted to warm up, leaving just Matthew and I outside (Jeff had gone to church). And what did he do? You guessed, he locked us out and bless him as much as he tried he couldn't unlock the back door. Fortunately, he does know how to unlock the front door, so I told him to go and unlock it. Only problem was - our 6 foot side gate (which was locked) that I had to climb over in order to get out of our garden and round to the front (see the picture below). Thankfully I managed it and luckily our neighbours german shepherd dog was not in their garden (he would have gone mad!). When I got to the front door Callum was no where to be seen, I rang the doorbell and he came running. After a little bit more fumbling he finally unlocked the door and I was in! I unlocked the back door and let Matthew in and we all warmed up with hot chocolate, smartie cookies (homemade yesterday) and watched Little Einsteins.

Img_1335Img_1355

Img_1357Img_1338

In other news this week; Callum had trouble with his asthma on Thursday and had to go to the Doctors. He's on a course of steroid tablets, along with his inhaler and is pretty much back to normal. Next week he's to have an assessment and most likely be given a 'preventor' inhaler to use instead. Poor little lad, he's been needing his inhaler quite a lot recently, so I think this is what he needs, we don't want anymore trips to hospital.

Earlier that day we had gone down to Alum Chine beach in Bournemouth, the boys played in the sand in a playground next to the beach. Jeff and I enjoyed a take-away coffee and I used my 70-300mm lense to zoom in on Old Harry Rocks to get this photo.

Img_1247_edited1

In potty news; not only has Callum mastered using his potty during the day, but he is dry through the night too - no more nappies! I'm so proud of him. Of course now that I have declared this I fully expect to be woken tonight with cries of "Mummy, I'm wet!".

I've been busy this week being creative - love it. Scrapbooking, knitting, cutting fabric (ready for sewing more bunting) and experimenting with book covering. Here's some layouts from this week; 'Stop! too late' - about Matthew throwing stones in the sea and of course getting a wet foot. 'Today - Welcome Spring' is about Tuesday gorgeous weather and the third one is 'Who's not listening?' is about Callum being more interested in his belly button than the bedtime story.

Img_1262_edited1

Img_1259_edited1Img_1260_edited2

Well that's it for today, the snow has all but gone except for two pretty pathetic looking snowmen. It was lovely to have snow, but now we're in April I'd much rather have the warm sunny days!

Comments