Seems so long ago...
Since last time...

Cupboards and Cupcakes

At last a very large inherited wardrobe which was leaning and falling apart in our bedroom (the shelves in one part had already collapsed) has been replaced by two lovely pine wardrobes from Pinetum; one for Jeff and one for me.  I should clarify that when I say 'inherited' I mean it came with the house, not from a loved one. I am loving them, they look gorgeous and I now have the perfect place to hang my large stripey Jan Constantine lavender heart (bought at the Country Living Spring Show).

IMG_2233 IMG_2234

We also bought a big (infact huge) matching chest of drawers to replace Jeff's old one and also in which to store the bedlinen. Callum has been given the old chest of drawers, which looks super cute in his room because it is quite low. I've put his books on the top and he can now reach them himself, which he loves.

IMG_2238

In return the baby changing unit from Callum's room has now been repurposed by me as my new scrap storage and work space - and it's working great. Strangely the drawers that kept sliding open all by themselves don't do so now - I guess they prefer the weight of my scrap stuff to clothes. Plus the cupboard space above the drawers is great for hiding my papers, etc away - looks so much neater. The changing area on top is the perfect height for me to scrap standing up, my preferred way of working. It has an additional flip down bit which I hunted out and re-attached this morning which further increases the table space -means I can spread anything out. The bookcase that used to hold all of my stuff can now accommodate more books and photo albums, space much needed. It has worked out beautifully all round! 

IMG_2239IMG_2227 IMG_2228 IMG_2229 IMG_2230

I haven't scrapped since our holiday in Northern Ireland some 4 weeks ago, however since the reorganisation of my work space on Friday I have completed two layouts, one of which was a double page spread no less!

IMG_2212 IMG_2213

I imagine that will be it for another week, as I have a fair next Sunday. Hoping for good weather as it's an outdoor event to be held on a cricket pitch in the middle of the New Forest. I have bought a gazebo to protect me from the sun (wishful thinking) or the rain (the most likely of the two). It was only £15 from B&Q - not bad, plus once we do get some nice summer weather it will be great for the kids in the garden.


An update of the health in this household; Callum - over the Chickenpox and back to pre school, hoping the marks left will fade in time. Matthew did get Chickenpox and is still off school, he's no longer infectious, but poor thing he's not very pretty looking so we're going to keep him off an extra day or so. Jeff (well, there's a whole other story, but I'm not going to go into that here) and I both have a throat infection so we're having 4 hourly hot lemsips together and collecting some anti-biotics later today. I can however report that Chloe, the cat is well.

Finally; cupcakes. I love making them, ok I love the idea of making and decorating them and if it was just me doing it then I would love it. But I am a Mummy and that means that one must do it with the 'help' of the children. Oh how I laugh (to myself obviously) when they tell Daddy they are "helping Mummy make cupcakes". I can also now laugh at the situation I and the boys found ourselves in yesterday. There they were in their blue polka dot PVC aprons (made by Mummy) ready for 'helping'. Matthew who infact was only wearing pants under his apron - since getting chickenpox he hasn't worn anything more than pants, obviously not quite ready for school just yet! Anyhow he suggested to Callum that they should go and wash their hands. So off they went to get nice and clean, that was where the 'nice and clean' part ended. Matthew in his attempt to get the soap from the window sill above the loo (I know, not the ideal place) slipped off the toilet seat, on which he was standing with Callum and into the potty which Callum had previously used and had not yet been emptied. Well now it was emptied...all over the floor, the walls and Matthew! Yes I am laughing at the situation whilst writing this now, but at the time I wasn't and Jeff can back that up. Thank you Jeff for taking Matthew away and washing him down and then taking over from me to clean up the mess in the loo - much appreciated. The boys and I then began again to make cupcakes; Mocha cupcakes this time. You'll be pleased to know that I only have a photo of the cupcakes to show you!

IMG_2200

I've mentioned the cupcake book 'Cupcake Magic' before but just to show that cupcakes and scrapbooking do go together I took a picture of this page which shows Ki Memories 'Color Therapy' patterned paper.

IMG_2203

There are also photos of cupcakes on Cath Kidston fabric (which I'm a little partial to myself) and the author Kate has a writing style that could be likened to Cathy Zielski (scrapbooker and brilliant blog writer) - a pretty good combination in my eyes. Anyway enough of my waffling, I leave you with a photo from yesterday; our first barbeque with the new barbeque 'the boys' gave Daddy for Fathers Day. Thankfully Matthew was in clothes for the photo for the first time in over a week, but only for about 20 minutes!

IMG_2222

Have a great week!

Comments