Tagged, Simple and Nice Post
Evening All!

"Let it snow...

...let it snow, let it snow". One of my favourite Christmas songs and yet in England we have a near zero chance of ever getting snow at Christmas. However, February is not bad, closer to Christmas than last year's snow which we received in April!

IMG_5853_web

IMG_5799_web
The photo above was taken after I had slipped unceremoniously down the bank. Thankfully I managed to keep my SLR camera held up high out of the snow. You can see in the top photo that in front of our house we have a driveway and beyond that a (normally grassy) bank down to the fence. Over the fence is a pathway that runs next to a stream and leads into the woods. I had wanted to take a picture of the snow scene and the sun in the background, although it's actually hard to make out the sun in the photo.

The boys have enjoyed playing in the snow, they had two days off due to their school being closed. On Monday, Callum decided to mow the snow and I helped them build a snowman, albeit a very small one!

IMG_5819_web

IMG_5830_web

The wintery snowfall gave me an urge to bake, so I made a loaf and some chocolate chip cookies and the boys had an urge to watch a Christmas movie, choosing 'The Santa Clause'.

IMG_5838_web 

Yesterday (Tuesday) Matthew was determined to build his very own igloo. He stayed out for ages making big balls of snow by rolling them around the garden, then placing them one on top of the other. He didn't manage to finish it, but he's hoping to have another go when he gets home from school today. You can see that he used up most of the snow in our garden yesterday, luckily for him we had another snowfall late last evening so this morning the garden was covered again.

IMG_5882_web

Today school was open and after what seemed like an age to get the boys dressed in appropriate winter clothing including welly boots, plus remembering to take shoes too, we left the house - late. Driving the car wasn't as bad as I thought, the snow had turned to slush for the most part and the temperature was above freezing so not too icy. I took my camera with me and we were greeted by this beautiful scene of the playground and the playing field beyond. The snow under foot gave a lovely crunchy sound when we walked on it and wasn't very slippy.

P1060450_web

When I went back at 11:45am to pick Callum up from Pre-school (pre-school is on the left hand side of the photo) the school field had several snowmen on it, so the kids must have been allowed onto the field at playtime. Unfortunately huge puddles were forming around the carpark and the entrances to I think I'll be wearing my wellies this afternoon too.

I'd better wrap it up now, but I'll leave you with this photo. It's some scrunched up clingfilm which had been left on the worktop. As I was about to pick it up and put it in the bin I noticed that it looked like a rabbit. Jeff thought it looked like a rabbit too and Matthew thought it looked like an elephants head (you'll need to tilt your head to the left to see it). What do you think?

IMG_5840_web

Must dash, back soon. x

Comments