Creative Minds
Family Fun Days

The Good, the Bad and the Exciting.

The Good.

Legoman Matthew entered a lego competition at his school summer fair and guess what?

IMG_7238_web 

Yep, he was the winner in his year group! He built a ship complete with engine room, bridge, man overboard, shark, boardwalk, anchor, waves and cargo.

IMG_7239_webIMG_7241_web 

Fathers Day was lovely, the boys both made cards and I made Jeff a mini tag book of him and the boys. I'll show you photo's another time as I haven't photographed it yet. 

IMG_7217_webIMG_7222_web

Then he left us to go play golf in the Club Championships, he came in 4th out of 83 golfers, pretty good huh? The boys and I took the opportunity to go and spend some time with my Dad on Fathers Day. I gave him a handmade tea cosy (not a hat as modelled below), his favourite chocolate and a "Keep Calm and Carry On" book (which I also gave to Jeff).

IMG_7260_web

I wanted to have a photo of me and my Dad on Fathers Day, Callum wanted to take the photo and Matthew had to get in the way...

IMG_7262_web

Matthew had to take a photo too, so he took one of my Mum and Dad together and then Callum had to get in the way!

IMG_7267_web 

Good news on the 'summer skirt 2009' - it has been made and infact I am wearing it right now. Here it is in a photo taken by Callum...

IMG_7263_web

I used Amy Butler fabric (love her fabrics), this one is called Lotus Green Wallpaper which I found in John Lewis. It's now in rotation with my summer 2008 skirt (made in Amy Butler Seagreen Coriander fabric) and a brown Animal skirt. And boy the weather is hot this week, 29 degrees today, so skirts are definitely the thing to wear.

Callum had a play session at First school a week and a half ago. He really enjoyed himself. When I came back in from a coffee with the other parents he was singing and doing the actions to the song 'Five little ducks' with all the other children. He has never settled well at Pre-school and is looking forward to going to 'Matthew's School', long may this continue.

The Bad

Later that same day I went to pick up Matthew from school, all of us parents were ushered into the playground. I thought the children were going to do a little show for us as I knew they had an African drummer in that day. Alas no, we were told that there was a 'serious situation' at school and that it was going to close for one week and this is why...

IMG_7281_web

Yep, we were all shocked to say the least. A boy in Year 4 had been confirmed as having it, he caught it whilst on holiday in America (he is now fully recovered). Anyway school reopened on Tuesday and I haven't heard of any others having caught it, thank goodness.

So what did we get up to whilst the boys were home for a week? (By the way for the most part this has to be put in the Good category!)

We played shops in the playhouse.

IMG_7303_web 

...lots of shops.

IMG_7297_web

We made signs for an ice-cream shop, a cafe, a hotel and this one...

IMG_7307_web

Sewing together felt finger puppets.

IMG_7291_web P1060978_web

And we baked. Including these scrummy muffins, which has to be put in both the good and the bad categories as I later realised they each contain 300 calories!

IMG_7313_web

And The Exciting

I have been asked by Scrapbooking.com Magazine if I'd like two of my layouts to be published in the August issue of their online scrapbooking magazine. Eh, that would be a yes please! I can't show you which layouts will be published, BUT I can show you this instead!

Ofb5

Also super exciting, I have enrolled in another online scrapbooking course run by Cathy Zielske. It's called 'Me, the abridged version' and is based on the Amy Krouse Rosenthal book "Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life". I bought this book a year or so ago and it resides in the en-suite next to my other scrapbooking books, it's a great book to flick through. I'm really looking forward to the course starting in September, but I have some cool pre-class work to keep me busy before then.

I'll leave you with a layout I made a few days ago. It's about Callum sticking his tongue out in my sisters wedding photos. (You might like to click on it to make it larger).

IMG_7333_web 

Oh and one last exciting thing...6 days until we go to Legoland!

Comments