Life after December Daily
Right now…

Two Words - Harry Potter

IMG_6338-web

It's all about Harry Potter in this house at the moment and well, I can't see that changing for a while. As I mentioned in my christmas post, Harry Potter has 'landed' in our house. The boys watched the first two movies before christmas and it's been growing from there. They got the Lego Hogwarts Castle and the Lego Quidditch set for christmas, both are played with most days.

IMG_6351-web

Matthew was given Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (book 1) at christmas and keenly read it in bed. I read it too and ordered the rest of the Harry Potter books (been wanting an excuse to read the books). Matthew is now on book 3, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and I'm currently on Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (book 5), the photo of book 4 is from last weekend.

IMG_6334-web

On Sunday Callum dressed himself in his Darth Vader cloak and a wizard hat, trying to look like Harry Potter. So sweet. Naturally I had to help him look about more like Harry. I found a website with printable HP glasses and a link to the Gryffindor crest. I printed them out onto cardstock, cut them out and stuck the crest to a brooch pin and onto his cloak. I made the tie from red cardstock with strips of yellow cardstock stuck onto it and attached some elastic. There you have it, a really quick Harry Potter costume, just need to add the lightning scar to his forehead with a eye liner pencil! Actually I plan to make them both 'proper' lined Gryffindor robes and some red Quidditch robes too, bought the fabric yesterday.

IMG_6363-web

But it doesn't stop at the outfits. On Saturday we made broomsticks with my Dad. I bought two wooden broom handles from the local surplus stores (£1.20 each) and when we got to the grandparents we headed into a neighbours field to cut small branches. Dad attached these to the handles and made 'proper' broomsticks. The boys are going to write Nimbus 2000 or Firebolt onto their handles. I have told the boys that these broomsticks are for outdoor use only! I think to can say that I get my crafty nature from my Dad.

P1080916-web 
IMG_6361-web

We made a snitch the other day too. It's a little golden flying ball which the 'seeker' (Harry) has to catch in the Quidditch match to get 150 points and end the game. We painted a table tennis ball a gold colour (metalic bronze mixed with yellow, didn't have gold), cut two wings from gold mesh and pushed the ends into slits cut in the ball.

IMG_6356-web

Yes, I love to be creative and I love to help feed the imaginations of my two boys.

Onto scrapbooking, I turned the journaling and photos from my last post about our 'walk' along the beach into a hybrid scrapbook layout 'We took, I took, You took.' Used a digital template by Cathy Zielske for the basis of the layout (I rotated and manipulated it), printed it out, added some pp by The Girls Paperie and mounted it on red cardstock and rounded the corners.

IMG_6343-web

The colours a little off, but the light is pretty rubbish the day I took this photo.

Have a lovely week.

Comments