You've been 'tagged'!
Work and Play

Matthew's Big Day

Is my little boy really going to school? Yep, here's the photos to prove it...

P1030413 P1030412

How cute is he? Amazingly he didn't cry, I really can't believe it - so proud of him for being so brave and grown up. Here's some more photos of him outside his school and one (slightly blurry) of him standing by his peg.

P1030414 P1030415

Two hours later I picked him up and the first thing he said was "I didn't cry at all Mummy" - bless that boy, I was very relieved. In the car on the way to Mum's (for lunch) I asked him about his morning and this is what he said;

  • he wrote his name in blue pencil
  • he played with the sticklebricks with his friend Ben (Matthew loves the sticklebricks, it was his favourite toy at pre-school and he was so pleased to see school had them too when he visited in July).
  • he made a plane out of sticklebricks, but Ben didn't know how to, so he made one for Ben!
  • he had a banana for snack, but didn't have his milk because he wanted orange juice but he wasn't allowed to have orange juice. We had ordered the free milk for Matthew (orange juice you have to pay for) but as the little chappy doesn't want to have milk I will have to ask if we can change his drink to orange and pay up!
  • he played outside at break time on the field. He wanted to play on the adventure playground but the big boys were playing on it. I'm assuming that they must take it in turns on different days.
  • they listened to a story
  • they listened to some songs, but apparently didn't sing them.

I think that was pretty much it! It's funny because all this information was fairly forthcoming when we were in the car until he decided that that was enough and said "No more talking, I'm tired now". Poor Grandma and Jeff couldn't get any information at all out of him later!

Yesterday I had arranged for some children we knew (who were also starting school with Matthew) to come round to our house and play. Most of Matthew's friends from pre-school were going to the 1st School that is on the same campus as his pre-school, but Matthew and four others didn't get in. I had been worried about him starting school with so few familiar faces (5 out of 60) so yesterday we had 8 children (including little brothers) in our house. This helped enormously because when we got to school he saw his friend Toby and I really think that he would have cried if he hadn't have seen him already in the classroom. Tomorrow we are parking at Ben's house (a friend from Matthew's football club) and walking to school with him. Ben is in Matthew's class and I'm hoping that this will prevent him getting upset tomorrow. Next week we'll probably combine walking to school with either Ben or Toby so that he will always have a little buddy to go in with. Keeping my fingers crossed that this plan will work. I think if he'd have cried today I would have too!

Tomorrow he starts at 8:45am so I need to be organised, luckily no packed lunches to make yet as he will only be doing mornings until January. Oh and by the way I did tuck his shirt in again before he went into his classroom and surprise surprise he left his jacket at school - good job I sewed a name label in it!

Other news.

Happy 38th Wedding Anniversary to my Mum and Dad today!

I haven't got an up to date photo of them so I thought I'd share this one taken 3 years ago in September 2004 of them and little Matthew playing football with lots of hair!

Matthew_w_mum_dad_sept_2004 P1030417

Scrapping News.

Inspired by my new book 'Real.Life.Scrapbooking' to scrap some of my everyday life I made his layout to document our daily 'drive' to get Callum to sleep!

P1030407

I will leave you one more photo of Matthew on his big day making a funny face!

P1030410a

Good Night.

Comments