Little bits of life
School homework for Mummy

Enjoy

I was inspired after reading Janine's post the other night to photograph my 'little word' for the year 'ENJOY'. She had seen this idea on Ali Edwards' blog last week, I too had seen it and loved the idea. Well after seeing Janine's photos I decided I too would have some fun and photograph my little word in various places. BTW the 'one little word' originated from Ali Edwards an American scrapbooker, she picks a word at the beginning of each year that is particularly relevant to her life. I choose 'Enjoy' to remind myself to enjoy every bit and everyday of my life and all that it has in store for me. Here's some of my favourites... sleep, a good mail day (the enjoy is on the teapot), cut flowers, coffee, scrapbooking books, being creative (camera, computer, scrapbooking).

Img_0198 Img_0201 Img_0208

Img_0215 Img_0192 P1040819

I finally got a scrapbook page completed, took me ages to decide upon the subject. In the end I choose one of my favourite photos which incidentally was taken my Janine back in the summer on a family photo shoot. I decided to use Kraft cardstock which I love and picked the colours for the patterned paper from the photo. Used those gorgeous foam letters from American Crafts again and used 3 orange accents, picking out the orange on Callum's shoe.

Img_0236

Yesterday I started another project that I've had in mind to do for over a year now. I make all of our cards and wanted to have an organiser in which to record birthdays, anniversaries, etc. Plus a folder for each month into which I can store cards that have been made in advance. Used a 6x6 binder (one of a box set of 3) from K & Co that was half price in the Artbase sale (was going to put a link in here, but I must have bought the last one because it's gone). The cards I make are about 4 x 6 so this size was perfect.

Img_0237 Img_0238

I used the same cardstock throughout and kept the same design for each month. On the front I used month cards from 7gypsies (I've had them for over a year!), brown month gaffer tape also 7gypsies (which I used as tabs) and felt flowers from American Crafts. On the back I used calendar months cut from 12 x 12 paper by Ki Memories (an old line) and patterned paper which tied in nicely with the colour strip on the top of each month. The patterned paper was from various companies; Ki Memories, Scenic Route, Basic Grey, Crate Paper, Daisy D's, Autumn Leaves and Anna Griffin.

Img_0242_2

Img_0246 Img_0253

I have to admit that I absolutely love the final look of the album, definitely going to be using this for years to come. Now I need to make some cards to go in it!

Had a really enjoyable day today, met up with my friend Jo for a couple of lattes and a cake (each!) at Cafe Nero in Ringwood this morning (with our youngest boys). Followed by a trip to the toy shop to buy two of those cheap polystyrene planes, but I saw a little lego plane kit which I knew the boys would love and bought that too! (Hilda and Denis you can tell Great Grandma the boys got this with some of the money she kindly gave them). Callum couldn't wait for Matthew to come home from school, we had to build it straight away. Infact whilst I was taking the above photos this afternoon Callum wanted me to take a photo of him with the airplane.

Img_0248

Then we took it with us to school at home time to show Matthew, he was over the moon. Matthew has a thing about airplanes at the moment; building lots in Northern Ireland with Jeff's old lego, looking at planes in books and attempting to build them here too with our lego, but we didn't have any proper airplane bits...until now! We spent the afternoon building an airport and more little planes. As I write this the boys are in bed; Callum with the lego man pilot and Matthew with the airplane on his chest of drawers. Yep, the boys certainly enjoyed the new little lego plane!

Comments