Family Fun Days
4!

Sports Day, Graduation and a Birthday Party

IMG_7399_web

Matthew's school holds a sports day with a difference, they call it Potted Sports (I have to confess that I have no idea why they call it that). Anyway, the school is split into 20 teams made up of 4 kids from each year group. They remain in this team for all subsequent years and siblings are placed in the same team. So next year both Callum and Matthew will be in the same team together; Team Hedgehog. Through the course of the morning the teams rotate around 20 games, accumulating points as they go.

IMG_7403_web 

After the sports day, the parents were allowed to stay and eat lunch with the kids on the school field. Very handy because 20 minutes later I had to take Callum to Pre-school for the very last time (Pre-school is just across the playground). Callum was having a special 'Graduation' ceremony later in the afternoon, which gave me about an hour to rush into nearby Ringwood to buy bits and pieces for his 4th birthday party before I had to return. I wasn't sure what to expect from a pre-school graduation ceremony, but it was lovely. They performed several songs which actions. I was very proud of him. Then they were all awarded a certificate and a mortar board to wear. The mortar boards had been handmade by the play leader using a square of black card, a black plastic bowl, wool tassle and a brad. They were brilliant, the kids looked so cute.

IMG_7441_web IMG_7450_web

Last Saturday I exhibited at the Fordingbridge Summer Festival, basically a small scale country fair. The weather wasn't good; windy with some heavy rain throw in too mid afternoon. The gazebo I was sharing with my friend Conny didn't hold up very well to the wind and rain, and by 3:30pm during a heavy rain shower we decided we'd better pack up before it collapsed on us! Such a shame because I had had a successful day up till that point. I can only imagine that if the weather had been sunny, a greater number of people would have attended and I may well have sold even more. Anyway, it's a show that I intend to do again next year.

P1070137_web 

On Sunday we had a birthday party for Callum at home. The rain held off for the afternoon and thankfully the kids were able to play outside, hoorah! It should have been a lovely party, and I do hope that the kids enjoyed it. But for me it was somewhat ruined by a kid who threw several paddies when he didn't get every prize going. Note to self - go with gut instinct next time and don't invite those who might be disruptive! Here's some photos of the other kids enjoying themselves.

IMG_7452_web  IMG_7458_web  

I found some sandcastle flags in our local toy shop (Callum's got them in his hand below), just the same as I remembered playing with on the beach when I was young. I bought all the stock the shop had left, which wasn't enough to fill 12 party bags, but enough to alternate with little colourful rubbers in pass-the-parcel.

IMG_7468_web

After initially wanting me to make him a chocolate and smarties cake, Callum changed his mind and chose a Peppa Pig cake and stripey candles. I was relieved he had changed his mind as I had little time to bake and decorate a cake.

IMG_7489_web 

I did however make some simple cupcakes which we added pre-made toppers to. Callum chose a packet of bugs (caterpillars, spiders and worms) and a packet of ladybirds. I completely forgot to take a photo of them before the got scoffed, fortunately one little ladybird cake was left. So I took a photo of it to show you and promptly ate it myself before the boys could get their hands on it!

IMG_7495_web 

On Tuesday our friend Laura and her son took the train down here from London for the day. The weather was awful; rain, rain, rain - no trampoling for the kids, instead we spent most of the afternoon in the playhouse. Her son Zach was loving the kitchen and enjoyed baking cakes. (Great to have you down, but next time please stay for longer!)

P1070147_web

Today I took the boys to Ikea and they were actually excited to go. We headed straight for the cafe and after eating their danish pastry and chocolate muffin they watched an Ice Age short film on my iPod whilst I drank my coffee - bliss!

It's now so late that thursday has passed into friday, the 24th July, a special day ... Callum's 4th birthday. I'd better get to bed as I'm sure he'll be up early!

Comments