Location, Location, Location - Part 2 Beach hut
Fathers Day 2010

Location, Location, Location. Part 3 - A night away in Bournemouth.

Jeff and I had a lovely night away without the kids a couple of weeks ago, our 2nd time in 7 years of having kids. His parents were staying with us for a week and very kindly looked after the boys whilst we got away to sunny Bournemouth. OK, so it's only 15 minutes down the road and we go there a lot, but the point was a. we were on our own as a couple, b. we'd be near should anything happen and c. we could be there enjoying our time away within quarter of an hour. We booked our accomodation the same day through laterooms.com and headed to the Royal Exeter Hotel. It was lovely. Great location, recently redecorated rooms, two great bars, parking on-site, beautiful lobby, etc, etc.

Royal-exeter-hotel

In preparation for a night away I bought this gorgeous overnight bag from Cath Kidston in Winchester the day before. I had some vouchers from my lovely brother-in-law which I hadn't spent and seeing as I have had my eye on one of those bags for several years now, this really was the perfect excuse to splash out and buy one.

IMG_2444ls_web

We headed out into town in search of dinner and ended up at Bella Italia, a place where we have taken the boys before. Maybe it was because we weren't pre-occupied looking after the boys, but the food was absolutely fantastic.

P1080281_web

And we both dressed up for the occasion. I wore this lovely 'vintage' style dress by Apricot (seriously in love with it), combined it with a 'pearl' bracelet given to me by my friend Ros and my favourite red high heeled shoes - you'll see those later.

P1080283_web 

After dinner we headed into The Slug and Lettuce, Guinness for sir and a cocktail for the lady, well two cocktails for me actually. They had a 2-4-1 offer on cocktails and well, it would have been rude not to take up the offer!

P1080285_web

See here of those shoes - vintage style and only £12 from Asda a couple of years ago. And hey it matches my lovely Bombay Breeze cocktail!

P1080288_web 

We then took a stroll through the Winter Gardens in the centre of the town back towards our hotel and more importantly it's two bars! This is the big balloon which you can go on to see right over the town during the day, not that we've ever done it.

P1080291_web

Back at the hotel we enjoyed the mild evening and sat out in the garden at Bar So, another cocktail for me (alas no way near as nice as the last two).

P1080293_web

Then we headed to the hotel's cocktail bar, 1812 and it was heaving - a very popular bar to be! I didn't take any photos in there, which is a shame, but I guess we'll just have to go back again sometime.

Next morning we headed down to breakfast and filled ourselves on coffee, cereal, toast and cooked breakfast.

P1080298p_web

And filled my handbag with those cute little pots jams and marmalades! Yes, I know I shouldn't, but could you have resisted?

P1080297_web

We then checked out of the hotel and hit the shops. We didn't buy much at all, but it was just lovely to walk around arm in arm and browse without the kids getting bored. After enjoying our last bit of freedom drinking coffee down by the beach we decided we better head back home.

(Thank you Hilda and Denis for letting us escape!)

Comments