Content
The end of the summer

Sand, wind, grey clouds and planes.

Boys on beach2 copy
Doesn't look very much like August does it? Fortunately it was milder than it looks and the boys really didn't seem to mind, they were happy to dig in the sand with their friends. I was happy to sit and watch them and chat to my friend Jo.

{I should probably clarify that I have several friends called Jo, that makes a total of 3 Jo's that will probably be mentioned from time to time here, of course I too am called Jo so that makes 4. There is Jo A who has been my friend since school and who was a bridesmaid at my wedding. There is Jo D who moved down from Yorkshire at Easter, her son is in Matthew's class and there is Jo F who is the one I went to the beach with on Friday, she too has a son in Matthew's class and moved to the area in Easter.}
 
So where was I? Well, this week it has been the Bournemouth Air Festival and the weather has been awful, yesterdays events had to be cancelled and todays was partly rained off. Jeff and I had planned to take the boys today (like we did last year and the year before, etc), but in the end we decided against it, what with rain. Fortunately Jo and I had taken the boys down to see the festival on Friday and although the weather wasn't great, it didn't rain and we did get to see the planes. Like this huge Lancaster Bomber which was part of the Battle of Britain fly by. If you look closely you can even see a person in the gunner position above the target. I used my big lens and got this at maximum zoom.

IMG_3909-web

We saw a host of other planes, over 20 of them including these wing walkers - madness!

IMG_3939-web

We saw helicopters, noisy jet planes and to finish we watched the Red Arrows. Due to the low cloud they could only perform formations and not aerobatic displays. Hopefully next year we'll have nicer weather and get to see them at their best.

IMG_3966-web
IMG_3967-web

The boys weren't too disappointed, they were happy just to be doing this...

IMG_3960-web

And they were under strict instructions not to go in the water, a; because we didn't have a towel or change of clothes and b; because the waves were enormous!

IMG_3973-web

Just got one scrapbook page to share with you. The design is based on a layout by Lisa Day as part of the Big Picture Scrapbooking free Summer Festival. I had printed out the photos ages ago but hadn't got around to scrapping them. They are from my night away with my friends in Surrey back in May.

IMG_3901-web 

Hoping for better weather this week, before the boys go back to school.

Comments