B is for ...
...and then it rained!

...feels like spring

IMG_6735-web

This week has been lovely and warm, warm for March anyway. Inspired by the glorious spring weather I decided to document my wednesday. 

IMG_6779-web 

The next day I made a scrapbook page, decided on a simple grid design and stuck journaling strips straight onto the photos.

IMG_6774-web

Today...

  • it felt like spring, 18 degrees C
  • I got a lovely scrapbook order (lots of Studio Calico from Sarah's Cards Ltd)
  • I hung the washing on the line (for the 1st time this year)
  • Chloe stayed in her basket until after the school run (normally she's up at breakfast)
  • I tidied up the garden from the winter (well overdue)
  • I finally took down the Christmas tree lights (shame on me!)
  • the boys didn't wear their coats to school (1st time this year)
  • I took Matthew to football and forgot his drink (oops, you'd think I'd remember after all this time!)
  • I played Harry Potter on the Wii with Callum
  • I made a scrapbook layout (see below)

IMG_6776-web

Used a cute little birdie from Maya Road which I painted and distressed, and a sweet butterfly from Jenni Bowlin. (Here's the rest of the supplies; Cardstock - Bazzill Basics, Patterned Paper - Basic Grey (spring trees) and Echo Park (spots), Chipboard bird - Maya Road, Number Stickers - October Afternoon, Butterfly and Number Flag Stickers - Jenni Bowlin, Chipboard Letters - Heidi Swapp, March Gaffer Tape - 7 Gypsies, Wednesday Stamp - Scenic Route, Paint - Making Memories).

Here's that layout I made on the wednesday 'Small Boy, Big Books'.

IMG_6767-web

I wanted to document Matthew (who's 7) and his amazing passion for reading. I knew that he'd like to read Harry Potter. I knew he'd like to read the first three books, which are long compared to the books he's been bringing home from school, but short compared to the last four in the Harry Potter series. But he has absolutely amazed me with his focus and determination to read the big books, we're talking 600 pages plus. He's completed book 4 and is 3/4 of the way through book 5. I guess he's got the reading bug from me, just several years earlier! He reads everynight in bed, most nights we have to tell him to put the book down, sometimes we forget and he's still reading at gone 9:30pm! I'm really proud of him and I wanted to make sure I wrote that down.

IMG_6769-web

Inspired by the lovely bright colours on the Harry Potter books I decided to use some chipboard letters I'd had for some time. They're by K & Co, from their 'Rough and Tumble' range from a couple of years ago.

IMG_6770-web

I also couldn't resist using another of those wooden bingo tiles by Maya Road, well I do have a packet of 31 to use! The stars are all October Afternoon, as is the lovely 'Schoolhouse' diecut paper.

Talking of books. Matthew said to me the other night "You won't be having as many baths now, will you? Not now you haven't got a book to read". Bless him, he doesn't particularly like being upstairs on his own at night (Callum doesn't seem to count!). So me having loooong baths reading my books, has given him some company upstairs. Since my last blog update I decided to re-read one of my favourite books, The Crow Road by Iain Banks. It has the best opening line 'It was the day my Grandmother exploded'. It's set in Scotland and uses lots of scottish dialect. I can picture the BBC dramatisation of it when I read it, which is particularly nice because one of my favourite actors Joseph McFadden (he has the most loveliest eyes), played the main character Prentice McHoan. 

It feels great to have my scrapbooking mojo back after one whole scrapless month. It's good to have another book on the go and it's oh so good to have some spring weather. Life is indeed good.

Comments